St. Supéry Makes Money Using Twitter…

… can Twitter make money off St. Supéry?

As a divine club member (membership to which I would highly recommend) I received a shipment of two bottles of 2001 Dollarhide Cabernet Sauvignon. Erin and I opened one up that evening, as we are both impatient people ;-). Immediately after tasting Erin gave the elusive two thumbs up (loosely translated = BUY MORE). At some point, I twittered my excitement about the Dollarhide…

Now the fun part, I got a call from a rep at St. Supéry this past Saturday. The rep led with “I received an email mentioning that you loved the ’01 Dollarhide and would like to purchase some more bottles.” I had been meaning to re-up my order anyways so this was a welcome and convenient call. A case is on its way and I can’t wait. Did I feel “stalked”? No. Would I have felt that way if I was not already a member? Probably. Further, it is always possible that my intentions to purchase more could have slipped through the cracks if the rep had not called me directly. At the very least, St. Supéry increased their chances of a sale by reaching out.

Here’s the question, from St. Supéry’s point of view is this a repeatable pattern? If so, how much can they make from it (i.e. what is it worth to them)? Further, can this be replicated across industries in some way, shape or form?

From Twitter’s point of view, do they want to go the customer service route? If so, how much can they charge for it? What tooling would be necessary to build on top of Twitter’s base functionality to make this easily repeatable for other companies?

I know. Lot’s of questions here, but no answers. These questions are not mine to answer — simply things that came to mind after the experience.

Nonetheless, someone at Supéry knows about Twitter, knows how to use twitter search, knows enough about RSS use it effectively and helps make great wine.

Couldn’t resist including a photo of Mike Cannon-Brookes “sleeping” on the lawn of St. Supéry winery last year before JavaOne…

~ by rmisek on February 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
